Vehicle Services Department, Plano, TX

I received the following notice about my car that I purchased four years ago with a ten year warranty.  I called my dealer and was told that the notice is a scam and that my car is still covered for another six years. Many people are not reading the fine print in the notice and are purchasing a repair warranty with this company that will not likely be honored when car repairs are made.

scan0001

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Bill niewinski on December 14, 2013 - 2:21 pm

    I too have been hounded by this company, I told them that it was too expensive, but they came
    back with different discounts, About four different offers Started off with $699.00 a year to $295.00 down and 18 installment at $172.00 a month. That’s $3,0989.6 they would get in 18 months, what a rip” Off”

  2. #2 by Diane Gargano on January 7, 2014 - 4:36 pm

    The same thing happened to me … I recieved the green letter in the mail .. called them and they told me it would costs me 3900.00 until 2017 …I called my car dealer and they told me it’s legit but they will not pay for car damages or anything .. they just want your money … I called them back and told them that it was a scam from my car dealer .. they wanted to call them …I also told them not to send me anymore of this bull$hit!!! …I got on google and looked at all the complaints …and first of all I would never ever get an extended warrenty from out of state .. maybe if my car dealer offered it .. I would … Please don’t fall for this scam ….

    • #3 by Phillippe on February 28, 2014 - 6:30 pm

      Diane . you were quoted 3900 to protect a Cadillac not till 2017. but till 2019 maybe if you think its a rip off to cover your 45 thousand dollar car for less than what you paid in sales tax on it. you should talk to bill and trade him for his kia Rhondo.

    • #4 by Phillippe on February 28, 2014 - 6:38 pm

      Bill you were quoted $2500 for a policy that was going to cover your kia Rhondo for an additional 60 months and an additional 100k miles…. $2500 to cover a car that’s known for having problems for the next 5 years… im a little perplexed as to why you think someone is having a go at taking advantage of you by offering to protect your car, which happens to be one of the most common cars you’ll find in any kia dealers repair shop.

  3. #5 by Fred Savage on February 17, 2014 - 10:28 pm

    I got the letter also, if its a scam how come they are still doing this, they should be shut down or arrested, Why isn’t the Better Business Bureau, doing anything about this bogus company? I think they should advertise this on the News, that Older people watch, and they will realize this is a scam.

    • #6 by Natasha on February 20, 2014 - 5:25 pm

      I agree that someone should stop this company from deceiving people. I don’t think the Better Business Bureau is concerned with stopping companies such as this one, only in reporting complaints.

  4. #7 by Pat Scales on February 20, 2014 - 9:43 am

    I am SO glad I read this before I did anything! I received a green letter, but looking at the vehicle information closely, they were “offering” me coverage on a car I’ve NEVER owned!!! One less piece of trash mail for me to deal with.

    • #8 by Natasha on February 20, 2014 - 5:23 pm

      I read everything very carefully due to my natural skepticism concerning offers I receive in the mail. I’m glad the post was helpful for you.

  5. #9 by Phillippe on March 3, 2014 - 12:41 pm

    glad the moderator on this site does not allow truthful comments to be made about the claims of “scams” just so you all are aware , i as a Representative of the company you are calming is a scam wrote out a long and informative comment on this.. and it was deleted…. guess people dont like the truth to be told on here

    • #10 by ap on August 14, 2014 - 6:29 pm

      Because, Phillippe-this company is a scam and been proven as such by the courts and others. When folks did try to ‘file a claim’- Whoops- ‘that’s not covered’, ‘Oh, that type of problem isn’t covered either. All this company does is pad the pocket of the employees-such as yourself.

  6. #11 by Brenda on March 3, 2014 - 2:37 pm

    Always do your homework before purchasing anything. Firm believer! (-:

  7. #12 by Drew on March 12, 2014 - 4:12 pm

    As a former employee to this company I feel its my duty to give some information and answer any questions about this company so that anybody who runs across this website while doing their research before calling this company has the honest inside truth about the company

    Are they a scam? they answer to that question is no. they are not. they do provide a relatively good service…. but this comes only to anyone who is willing to negotiate with them and knows exactly what they should be expecting from a extended warranty company.

    are they Honest? well honestly yes, they actually are licensed by the state and all of there employees are also licensed by the state with insurance producers licenses . and in order to keep them they have to be truthful in business as required by the state. but they live in the “grey area” to where they teach there employees to say things that sound one way but on paper mean another.

    there marketing tactics are shady at best. they send out these letters that except in very very small print at the bottom don’t even say the company’s name anywhere on the letter. the company’s name is Auto Assure. not “vehicle services dept. ” that is a tactic they use to generate their calls. to make the letter seems more “official” see the eagle that looks very similar to the seal of the united states, also a tactic to generate phone calls.

    Auto assure if you do your research has a D- rating with the BBB. now some of these complaints on the BBB are from consumer who don’t realize that Auto assure is just a broker and set people up with extended service contracts through third party administrators. and that auto assure themselves do not carry the policy, but are simply brokers. but when a claim gets denied they file against auto assure and not the actual policy holder. the rest of the complaints on the bbb are against them and there marketing/ sales tactics.

    if you do wish to seek doing business with them keep in mind this company is probably the highest priced company in the industry. and they openly admit that in there sales meetings .. on average the policy’s do hover around $3500 to $4000 for a common car $5500 to $6000 for your higher end cars… bmw Mercedes etc.
    this most the time includes the $600 the company directs to sales represenitive to mark up the policy. and that is on top of the $2800 the company already has the policy marked up. yes that’s right on average a 5 year 100k mile policy cost this company $800 to sell you. but you pay $3500 for it. now don’t get me wrong there is nothing wrong with making a profit. but so you are aware. there top sales reps do make roughly 10k to 15k a MONTH working there.

    Auto assure prides themselves on the fact that they are “gold certified with the VPA” (vehicle protection association) and directs there employees to explain to any customers who bring up there horrible rating with the BBB that in the industry of VSC’s (vehicle service contracts) that a good rating with the BBB means nothing compared to a Gold cert. with the VPA. that the VPA was set up by the attorney generals from every state across the union to regulate fair and honest practices in the industry of VSC’S and how they are only one of 15 company’s nation wide that are accredited by the gold seal of the VPA. this is a bold face lie. the VPA which by the way nobody has ever heard of unless you work for autoassure or one of the other 14 companies certified, is simply a privately owned company. yes a PRIVATELY OWNED COMPANY that has absolutely nothing what so ever to do with the attorney generals in any state what so ever. they vpa is just a company tthat has been set up to force the smaller companies that sell VSC’s out of business.
    so if you do call them. and they try to explain to you all about there rating with the VPA, just keep in mind they PAID for there gold medal. they did not earn it

    They pride them selves on what they call the one call close.. basicly they teach there employees to use very high pressure sales tactics to get you to purchase a policy on the first phone call they tell you they cannot offer you coverage past the phone call. that if you want it you need to set it up now or forever be denied the option of protecting you car. this is false. this is just there way of getting your money now. so you don’t have the chance to look elsewhere and see that you are over paying.

    the company buys bottom of the barrel leads that they market to. meaning if you receive a letter from this company they paid a very small percent of a penny for your, and 15k other peoples information. because of this you may not have the car. you may not have ownd it for 3 or 4 years.. the letter may be sent to a deceased relative on a car you own. they do whatever they can to send you these letter to get you to call in so they can attempt to “flip” you into purchasing a policy. most of the time this is done by offering you a factious discount or credit towards the purchase of a policy… this doesn’t exist.

    also keep in mind that if you do decide to call in to simply let them know that you do not want there services, don’t own the car, already have coverage, etc. and ask for them to remove you from there mailing list… 9 times out of 10 they wont. and you will continue to receive ” Final notices” 3 and 4 times a week.

    now that I come to think about it.. just avoid this company. there are plenty of other honest, cheaper companies to get the same thing through.. quit paying Brandon Schrader’s GTR payment.

    im not going to get into how they treat you as an employee, this isn’t the site for this. but I will tell you that if you do run across this while considering a job there…don’t take it. there promises of a large income are false they pay heavily on your closing % and if you are pacing to have good month with them. they put you into a different call que where the callers are just requesting to be removed from the mailing list, and this drops your closing % to a level that they don’t have to pay you any commission and then pay there “top reps” on the deals YOU’VE’ sold to make it seem like it is so possible to make money there…. further research shows that there “top producers” are related to the owners and are also spoon feed deals from employees who have left when they seen this company’s un fair practices in business. YOU CANNONT MAKE MONEY HERE REGARDLESS OF WHAT THEY PROMISE YOU.

    sorry for the long post… here is a potato.

  8. #13 by Todd on March 13, 2014 - 2:46 pm

    I received one today on a vehicle my dad used to own. He passed away in May of 2013. We had the same address, but my mom traded it in to get a new car. I nearly laughed out of my chair when I saw it.

  9. #14 by Ashley on March 17, 2014 - 2:09 pm

    I started getting letters from this company AS SOON as I got my car last summer. Funny thing is, they say right on the letter that ‘No other notices will be sent. This will be our only attempt to contact you about your factory warranty which may have expired or will be expiring.’ First of all, my car is from a USED car dealership, and we didn’t get a warranty with it. Second of all, this is the 3rd letter I have gotten from them. I have also gotten at least 3 post cards and one phone call about it.

  10. #15 by Michael on April 14, 2014 - 11:31 am

    I just got off the phone with this company. They gave me the discounted offer of $295 downpayment and 171 per month for 18 months. When I said I needed more time to decide they said “that’s great, just give us a credit card number in order to make a reservation”. I hesitated, and as they were jabbering on about how the offer would expire, how the conversation was being recorded, etc.. I googled the company name and found this. THANK GOD I did not give them my credit card number!
    What a scam.

    • #16 by Natasha on April 14, 2014 - 5:12 pm

      That doesn’t seem much of a discount. It is good that you didn’t give your credit card information. It might have taken some time to have the service cancelled.

  11. #17 by Donnie G. Robertson on May 8, 2014 - 2:13 pm

    Severn letters ….. seven phone calls ….. my choice to waste my time. they may be a legit company but their tactics stink. My truck is 5 1/2 years old and they told me “…NOW is when the problems begin.” When i said, “I only have 15,730 miles on it”, the young lady said, “Oh my! You REALLY need a warranty! NOT DRIVINg is BAD on new vehicles!” ………….. OK ….. bye-bye.

    No more calls………… :) Donnie wasted enough time.

  12. #18 by cINDY dEwITT on May 28, 2014 - 5:40 pm

    if enough people contact the better business bureau perhaps their rating will go from D- to F. The BBB does follow up on complaints and that’s how these companies get bad ratings that alert others to not do business with them. Go the BBB website and report what happened to you with this company.You can file a report out ot state. THEY NEED TO KNOW THESE ARE SCAM ARTISTS.
    I JUST RECEIVED A GREEN LETTER FROM THEM TOO.

  13. #19 by M J Francisco on August 29, 2014 - 5:48 pm

    Which agency is giving Vehicle Services Department, Plano, TX, our vehicle information (year, make and model). Doesn’t this go beyond a third party’s need to know and give them more information to use in identity theft attempts? When registering a vehicle, there is a fine line between your expected right to privacy and someone else’ misuse of public information.

  14. #20 by tee jaay on September 3, 2014 - 9:15 pm

    Whoaa..my wife almost bit on this one till I read the fine print at the bottom of the letter……you guys working for this company should ashamed of yourselves…..

  15. #21 by Eugene on October 6, 2014 - 4:25 pm

    Thank you, guys, for your comments. Now, I know what to do with this green paper.

  16. #22 by Corrie on October 15, 2014 - 7:00 pm

    I just received a letter from this bogus company in the mail today. I immediately knew it was a scam because my warranty is covered for up to 100,000 miles and my car only has over 30,000. Glad I did some research too. And to comment on these ‘so-called’ employees of this company leaving comments here, how can you endorse and validate what your ‘company’ represents? It’s clear from others experience that you’re overcharging people for services that aren’t even valid.

  17. #23 by susan on October 22, 2014 - 4:08 pm

    We got the notice and we haven’t owned the car for 2 or 3 years. Oh yea and we are going to be revoked after 5 days/ and no other notices will be sent. Yippee maybe this time it’s going to be true. wow and on a vehicle we don’t own.

  18. #24 by Bill on November 13, 2014 - 7:43 pm

    I have received many calls and letters for cars that I have and ones I no longer have. My concern is how a company in Texas has a clue what cars I may or may not have. Hmmm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

